Who’s At Fault For Collisions Linked To Brake Failure?
May 11, 2022
Tennessee car accident report
One of the first things you do immediately after a crash is call the police. When the police arrive, they will examine the crash scene and interview all parties involved. The police can act as a buffer between you and the other driver and gain a clear picture of how your crash occurred.
Once the police have finished examining the crash scene, they will put together an unbiased Tennessee car accident report, which documents all of the important details pertaining to your crash.
OBTAINING A COPY OF YOUR TENNESSEE CAR ACCIDENT REPORT
Once your crash report is ready, you can obtain it online from the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security. In order to get a copy online, you must provide the following:
- A $10 fee payable with a credit card.
- Your last name, crash date, name of reporting agency and your driver’s license.
- One of the following:
- Vehicle identification number (VIN), which can be found on the lower left-hand side of your dashboard, inside the driver’s side door jam or on your vehicle title.
- License plate number
- Case or tracking number
You can also obtain your report directly from the Tennessee Highway Patrol (if they were the investigating agency) for a fee of $4. Crash reports can be obtained by mail or in-person seven days after the date of your crash at the nearest Tennessee Highway Patrol location. If your crash was investigated by another law enforcement agency (such as a town or city police department), you will need to obtain it from that location.
To request your car accident report by mail, you must send a cashier’s check, money order or bank check in the amount of $4 to:
The Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security
Financial Responsibility Division
PO Box 945
Nashville, TN 37202-0945
A Nashville car accident attorney can also obtain a copy of your report for you.
WHAT YOU WILL FIND ON YOUR TENNESSEE CAR ACCIDENT REPORT
When you obtain a copy of your car accident report, it’s critical that you read through it and ensure that all information is correct. Any incorrect information in your report can be leveraged by the other driver’s insurance company and used to hurt your claim.
Here’s what you will find on your car accident report:
- Basic information such as the date, time and location of the crash.
- The number of people injured or killed in the crash.
- Hazardous weather and visibility conditions that likely contributed to the crash.
- Information about the drivers and vehicles involved (VIN and insurance information).
- If any citations were issued by police or any arrests were made.
- Damage to the vehicles involved and the estimated cost of damage.
- Whether or not there were traffic signs or signals present.
- The posted speed limit and road conditions.
- Commercial carrier information (if you were involved in a crash with a large truck or other commercial vehicle)
- A written narrative and illustrated diagram of how the crash likely occurred.
CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED NASHVILLE ATTORNEY
IF YOU WERE HURT IN A CRASH If you were involved in a crash, you may have sustained thousands of dollars in damages. This could include (but isn’t limited to) medical costs, wage loss and property damage. Since Tennessee is considered an at-fault or tort car insurance state, you must prove that the other driver was negligent to recover damages. Several key pieces of evidence will need to be obtained by an experienced car accident attorney to help you build a strong case. Your car accident report can be cross-referenced with:
- Witness statements
- Physical evidence collected from the crash scene
- Video footage from surveillance cameras and dashcams (if any footage is available)
- Your diagnosis and medical records A Nashville car accident attorney at Thompson Law will gather critical evidence to support your case and fight to maximize your compensation. Contact us online to schedule your free and confidential case consultation.